A Bon Voyage Gift: Mraz Live, All Over the Place

Thanks to everyone who sent me some birthday cheer last week. I appreciate all of your kind thoughts and wishes.

And now I’m off to New Zealand! I’ll be gone for a couple of weeks. Will try to blog a little from the road, especially if I have any Mraz-related experiences while I’m gone.

Jason Mraz hatWhile I’m away, if you need a Mraz fix, let me point you to the Mraz files at the Internet Archive. I’ve known about it for a long time, but never really had the time or appropriate technology to explore it.

There are dozens, if not hundreds, of live Mraz shows available for you to download for free, as recent as the show he did in Rhode Island earlier this month and going as far back as the living room concerts he did back in 2000.

You have to be set up to listen to FLAC and/or SHN files, but there’s a quick tutorial that helps you with that. Start by downloading WinAmp if you don’t already have it and you’re halfway home 🙂

Then, voila! It’s a Mraz concert every day.

A few of my favorite shows so far are:

Mraz at Manchester Lane, Melbourne, Australia
03/22/2006
Lots of goodies in this show. Mraz flirts with feet, adds something to the middle of “I’ll Do Anything” that I don’t think I’ve heard before, talks about his McDonald’s fantasy and has the whole audience sing “Rocket Man” with their best English accent.

Mraz in Someone’s Backyard in the Netherlands
07/15/2007
You may have seen clips of this one in the documentary that came with We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things. At least, I think that’s where I saw it. The recording is so good, you could invite friends to your back yard and play it and feel like Jason is there with you.

Mraz in Someone’s Living Room, SoCal
03/11/2000
A very young Jason Mraz tries out some of his new songs for friends. Can you believe some of his stuff is almost a decade old?

10 responses to “A Bon Voyage Gift: Mraz Live, All Over the Place

  • Maureen

    Thank you for this but CRAP!!!! I can’t get them to play. I downloaded the FLAC thingy but can’t get any further, darnit. I’m seriously jonesing for some more videos of Jason, too, since I couldn’t get tickets to Dave Matthews in May. Jason’s over in Korea right now, having fun at “Free The Weed” parades and I’m over here trying to learn how to play his videos on the internet with zilch success……grrrrrr 😦 I’ve watched every possible youtube video with his name tagged to it, so I’m just going to keep trying to figure this thing out. Thanks, Lisa. Have fun in New Zealand!!!!

  • Maureen

    I give up. Life sucks. I need the Geek Squad. STAT 😦

  • Matt

    There’s a program called Switch that converts FLAC files to MP3. I usually use that one.

    http://www.nch.com.au/switch/

    Maureen, I hope that helps.

  • Maureen

    Matt, thanks so much for that link. I downloaded it, installed it (miracle) and then once I transferred the downloads to be converted (almost there!), a pop-up tells me that .shn files cannot be converted on my mac……TORTURE. I appreciate the effort, though 🙂

  • Teri

    Just heard I’m Yours as background in the new Verizon wireless hub commercial. Weird.

  • Matt

    For .shn there’s the shorten tool, the Mac version that I’ve used is here

    http://www.hornig.net/shorten.html

    Too bad this has to be so complicated. Many artists allow MP3 on archive.org, no idea why Jason doesn’t.

    Anyway, the Ootmarsum show is one of my favorites. Gotta check the Australian one out too, sounds promising!

  • Maureen

    MATT!!!!! You are freaking awesome!! Thank you soooo much for that last link because it worked! Mraz fans are the best 🙂

  • Xandie

    ManLane show is my fave live downloaded so far too, and that Ootmarsum show too!! 😀

  • alex

    i like the verizon wireless version of “im yours” is there a way to get that song?

  • jali free

    great info…
    blog walking, i’m and my family fans Jason mraz. huehuehehee

Leave a Reply

