Jason Mraz: Big Grammy Loser

Jason and Mama Mraz

Jason and Mama Mraz

It’s cool though, right? I mean, the fact he even got nominated blew me away, and he got some decent screen time and his mom seemed happy to be there. He looked really tan and healthy too, which is good since he’s about to start touring like a crazed man again.

And John Mayer twittered Jason a compliment. At least I think it’s a compliment. You just never know with John Mayer, and sarcasm is really hard to express in twitter form:
johncmayer
Best Pop Male Vocal!! I wanna share it with Mraz. His is a really special performance. Hands are shaking, about to play some R and B!!

I’m sure there’s more to write about last night, but I can’t really move my neck right now and typing is killing me. Should be a good day at work.

Say what you need to say (x 42),
Lisa

7 responses to “Jason Mraz: Big Grammy Loser

  • Maureen

    LISA!!! PLEASE change the title of that entry. Jason is NOT a loser in any way, shape or form. His fans know he was the REAL winner last night, and EVERY night. He looked smokin’ hot (even though he opted for Chuck Taylor’s vs. going barefoot like we’d hoped for) and he shared a very special evening with his mama. PLUS, I have a strong feeling that he was genuinely happy for everyone who took home a Grammy last night……a winner in my book every time 🙂

  • Matt

    There might be some sarcasm in the title… 🙂

    Yeah, it’s cool that he got nominated. I don’t really care about Grammys, but still I do get excited when my favorite artists do well.

  • curbsideprophecies

    Now now. It’s all meant in good fun. Clearly I don’t think he’s really a loser – he just didn’t win last night. A few times 🙂

    Plus, my neck still won’t move and I’m experiencing a lot of discomfort, so I wasn’t really up for a chipper headline like, “Jason Mraz: Always a Winner in My Book!”

    I love the guy and all, but when in pain I always turn to dark humor.

  • Maureen

    As a fellow chronic neck-pain sufferer, I’m willing to sympathize and forgive. But just this once. Have you tried acupuncture? I swear by it.

  • Darek

    I’m always weary of misinterpretation when it comes to internet “complements” as well Lisa, but Mayer wrote this on his blog the next day as well:

    “I think Jason Mraz wrote, recorded and SANG one of the best songs of 2008, and I hope this makes it back to him…”

    So, I’m willing to give him a few points on this one. Seems like even he’s aware that his winning an award for vocals over Mraz is a bit of stretch.

    And as I’ve been saying since the awards, now he can win a Grammy down the road for a song that better demonstrates his talent (though I’m equally indifferent to the Grammys in general).

  • Lynda

    I’ve never really watched the Grammys and even this year with Mraz in it I wanted to but it wasn’t meant to be. I was happy to hear of his nomination but a lot of times you win that award and how it impacts your life thereafter is something one might not want. I suppose he could be happy and say ‘you don’t like me. you really don’t like me!’ I think it is just as well and he can continue to sing his ‘happy hippie song’ for us Mraz lovers. Happy Valentine’s Day! Darek, you’re right it is a stretch for them to award Mayer for vocals over Mraz. It’s insane!

    • curbsideprophecies

      I generally like John Mayer, I just don’t get why this one song is so big for him. He just repeats “Say what you need to say” over and over and over again until it gets to be like “It’s a Small World”, drilling an annoying hole through your brain. As soon as I hear it come on the radio I change stations to protect myself from going crazy listening to it. Of all his songs to beat out Jason, this one has to be the least impressive.

Leave a Reply

