Jason Mraz Wrote My Annual Review

Mraz Steal ThingsWell, he helped anyway.

This is the time of the year when everyone in my company has to write a self-evaluation. It’s pretty much the least enjoyable thing I ever have to do here, because as much as I like to write, and even though I get paid to write, I loathe writing in corporate-speak.

If it were up to me, my review would read something like: “I finished all my work on time. I did my best to be nice to people (even the annoying ones). I wasn’t perfect, but I think I did a damn good job and you should be very thankful that I show up every day.”

Instead they want something that reads more like: “Considered data provided by business partners when building content matrix of user options and dynamic help, to determine information hierarchies.” 

I don’t think that makes any sense, but it’s got enough buzzwords in it to make it sound like I know what I’m doing.

The most difficult part of this already tedious evaluation was figuring out how to address feedback regarding my attitude. Apparently, I could be nicer. I mean, I’m nice, I bake lots of cookies and loan people books and DVDs (and burn them Jason Mraz CDs to hook them into our happy little community), but that’s just the people I like. The people I don’t like… know it.

I’ve never been very good at pretending to like people who I find to be repulsive, shallow, smarmy, incompetent or just dull. I’m working on it though, trying to find that one good thing that everyone is supposed to have in them and focus on it, even when they’re saying, “So, I just went ahead and rewrote this all for you so you know what I want. I hope that’s ok. [Smirk]”

Deep breath.

Right, so how to say, “Really, I promise, I’m really trying to be a more kind, patient person in the office. Honest I am”? I started over and over again and nothing was quite right, but as I was listening to We Steal Things I realized the answer was right in front of me the whole time.

Practiced kindness and gratitude for team members by encouraging their participation, thanking them for their time and ideas and increasing time spent in face-to-face interactions to ensure I delivered work that met their expectations.”

Mraz and his philosophy save the day. And for that, I am truly grateful.

Desperation is a mambo. Dance it,
Lisa

2 responses to “Jason Mraz Wrote My Annual Review

  • Lynda

    nice blog, lisa. i like your self-evaluation. it puts my workplace in perspective. i wrote a pretty damning comment for our employee perspective survey. the intent was to spotlight bad management to get the help we needed. i like the way you wrote your statement. i’m going to print it and share it!

  • curbsideprophecies

    Thanks, Lynda. It felt like a small victory to incorporate Mraz-speak into my corporate-speak. Of course, I haven’t gotten my manager’s feedback on it yet, so we’ll see how grateful he is for it.

    But if it made your work day a little easier, then my work here is done.

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

