Hutchinson vs. Mraz – Thanksgiving Infomercial Showdown!

Jason Mraz YouTubeWhen I first found out about Eric Hutchinson a while ago I wrote about some of the eerie similarities between him and our Prophet Mraz (including a love of avocados and San Diego, among other things). Coincidence, or a little coattail riding? We may never know.

But here’s another item to add to the list of things E. Hutch (eHutch? Erich? eRich?) is doing that make me think, “Didn’t Mraz already do that?”

Mr. Hutchinson has a video on YouTube that’s a faux infomercial for his shirts and other merchandise. Mraz did a video about a year and a half ago that was a faux infomercial for Real Magic TV hutchinson_info(RMTVPTJMBOALICGHMD). Both are goofy, and on YouTube, and are videos. On YouTube. Coincidence?! Probably.

But are two singing geeks better than one? Also probably. And that’s something to be thankful for.

Outside Villanova,
Lisa

6 responses to “Hutchinson vs. Mraz – Thanksgiving Infomercial Showdown!

  • Darek

    I’m a fan of both of them but had the same thoughts about the Mraz infomercial when I saw Hutchinson’s. There’s an episode of Southpark where one of the characters keeps saying “Simpsons did it to every plot twist”. Jason is the Simpsons here.

    • curbsideprophecies

      Hi Darek,

      Ha, that’s a great episode of South Park. And yeah, as much as I like Eric’s sound, I think in part it’s because he sounds like so many other people I like. Going through his CD it’s like: This song opens like that John Mayer song, this one has a chorus that’s very Beatlesque, this one’s rhythm reminds me of No Doubt’s “Spiderwebs”… it’s hard to find one that just sounds like him.

      Thanks for stopping by,
      Lisa

  • Amy

    My friend and I once said that if Adam from Maroon 5 and Jason Mraz had a love child it would be Eric Hutchinson. Jason is my absolute favorite musician the world, but Eric has some massive talent. I saw him live 3 times this year and his energy and his talent are amazing.

    There isn’t a single song on eric’s album that reminds me of anyone else. And I have a wide range of artists that I listen to on a regular bases.

  • Andy

    Did you know that Eric & Jason Mraz toured together this past spring in Australia?

Leave a Reply

