Dear Mraz: Thank You for James Morrison

In the last week, my postings have followed Mraz’s Practice Gratitude theme. I was thankful for Joss Whedon. I was thankful for friends.

Last weekend I was thankful to be flipping through channels and spot Mraz on VH-1 doing an uncomfortable interview where the chick was asking these amature, softball questions and he looked like he would rather be just about anywhere else, although he was polite and kind throughout. Also, there were avocados.

James Morrison

James Morrison

Now I would like to take a minute and express my attitude of gratitude for James Morrison. I can’t believe I actually wrote “attitude of gratitude”. If you come back tomorrow, that part may be erased. I’m not sure about it yet.

James Morrison is the guy singing on Details in the Fabric. His voice is gritty and real, the opposite of the buffed and polished and synthesized stuff you normally get on the radio, but then nothing on We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things. is what you normally hear on the radio. That’s why we like it.

After listening to “Details in the Fabric” a few dozen times I went to YouTube and looked up Mr. Morrison. What I found was ok, but it didn’t blow me away and I pretty much forgot about him.

A few weeks later I got to meet up with my friend, Jorge, who I haven’t seen in yonks. (That’s Australian for ‘a super long time’.) We had brunch, did some shopping, and walked around Berkeley. We popped into one of the massive record stores on Telegraph and I was thumbing through the used CDs. When I got to the Ms, to see if maybe there was a Mraz import I didn’t have, I found James Morrison’s Undiscovered. It was $3.99, so I decided to take a shot.

After leaving Jorge back at his hotel, I rolled down my windows, slid the CD into my player, started cruising toward the freeway, and suddenly felt like someone had waved their magic wand over my little blue Neon. Maybe it was just the rare, perfect California weather, or maybe it was my mood, but after just a few minutes I decided that this James Morrison CD was going to be my new best friend.

I’ll let you discover more about him yourself, but I do want to share these lyrics from the song Wonderful World:

Sometimes I feel so full of love
It just comes spilling out
It’s uncomfortable to see
I give it away so easily

That’s so me. And that’s so Mraz, don’t you think? Heart on his sleeve, completely willing to look like a fool.

It’s a fun album. Go get it. Even if you have to pay more than $3.99.

I’m not lost, just undiscovered,
Lisa

4 responses to “Dear Mraz: Thank You for James Morrison

  • Meg

    I can’t help but comment since I have Morrison to thank for my discovery of Mraz. 🙂

  • Mraz Endorses Morrison for VP of Zeal « Curbside Prophecies - What Would Jason Mraz Do?

    […] Morrison’s last album, Undiscovered, was excellent, perfect for blasting in the car with the windows down. While I’ve only listened to the new album once so far, I think it’s another hit. Find […]

  • Christa

    Found your blog while researching some info on Mraz (long story). Anyway, I really like the way you express yourself. 🙂 And, if you like James Morrison on Details in the Fabric, you should really really (if you haven’t already) listen to some of Jason’s other friend, Ainslie Henderson. A)His music sounds so much like Details in the Fabric that I’m fairly positive Jason must have been listening to it a LOT when he wrote it and B) he sounds a LOT like Morrison, particularly live, where he shines much more than he does on his lovely album, Growing Flowers by Candlelight.

    Peace,
    Christa

    • curbsideprophecies

      Hi Christa,

      Checking out Ainslie has been on my To Do list for a while now. It’s amazing how fast the days go by and how very little I get done. Maybe I’ll make his music a Christmas present to myself.

      Thanks for the recommendation and thanks for reading!
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

