Take a Look, It’s in a Mraz-Recommended Book

Last weekend I had on VH1 as I was cleaning or baking or emailing or whatever I do on a weekend, and one of their I Love the 80s episodes was on. 1983 I think. Maybe 84.

Well, it got to the segment on the show every child of the 80s saw and thought, “I could talk about a book way better than that dorky kid”: “Reading Rainbow”. And a series of comedians and stars took turns singing the theme song, including our own Prophet Mraz. Awww.

I have many questions about how a guy who can barely get any radio play somehow became a staple in this series of nostalgia shows, but that’s for another time. For now, let’s talk about Jason’s recommended reading list. After all, summer is near and you’re going to need something for the beach or the campground or the airplane or wherever you’re going that will give you a few hours for self-reflection, meditation, and general improvement and nourishment of your mind, body and sexy soul.

Dalai LamaIn his Inspiration Jason post, Mraz gave us the following list of favorite titles:

  • The Way of the Peaceful Warrior – Dan Millman
  • The Celestine Prophecy – James Redfield
  • The Alchemist – Paolo Coelho
  • Siddhartha – Herman Hesse
  • Zen & the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert Persig

Amazingly Insightful reading, reminders and tips:

  • A New Earth – Eckhart Tolle
  • The Four Agreements – Jose Luis Ruiz
  • The Tao of Pooh – Benjamin Hoff
  • The 4-Hour Workweek – Timothy Ferriss
  • Conversations with God – Neale Donald Walsh
  • The Secret – Rhonda Byrne
  • The Art of Happiness – His Holiness the Dalai Lama

I suppose this is where we can agree to disagree, as I have railed against The Secret in the past. Seems like a big scam to sell books by telling people things they already know but with a prettier cover and advertised by Oprah. But hey, different strokes, different folks.

A Confederacy of DuncesTo this list I would add a few of my own favorites – books that turn your world around and inspire you to create and live more creatively.

  • A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
  • Anything by Kurt Vonnegut, but especially Galapagos and Bluebeard
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
  • A Walk in the Woods – Bill Bryson
  • Nine Stories – JD Salinger
  • Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
  • Something you wrote more than five years ago that reminds you of who you were then and how you got to where you are now

And if I ever finish House of Leaves, I’ll let you know how that goes.

Lisa 

3 responses to “Take a Look, It’s in a Mraz-Recommended Book

  • Dylan

    Good luck with House of Leaves x.x I couldn’t get past the first 20-or-so pages. Have you tried reading Only Revolutions? It’s hard to imagine that a single person authored both those books without being on all known drugs at the same time.

  • curbsideprophecies

    Hey Dylan,

    Funny you should ask, because my bookmark got stuck on page 50 last week and hasn’t moved in about four days. I should have known that a book whose cover references Derrida (the bane of my grad school existance) wouldn’t be a light read. Over the weekend I picked up Vonnegut’s new book, Armageddon in Retrospect, because even if it’s filled with prophecies of doom for the human race, it’s still cheerier than House of Leaves.

    I will finish it though. I just can’t leave a book half read. Maybe I’ll try Revolutions as well.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Lisa

  • Berangari

    I read “My Stroke of Insight” in one sitting – I couldn’t put it down. I laughed. I cried. It was a fantastic book (I heard it’s a NYTimes Bestseller and I can see why!), but I also think it will be the start of a new, transformative Movement! No one wants to have a stroke as Jill Bolte Taylor did, but her experience can teach us all how to live better lives. Her TED.com speech was one of the most incredibly moving, stimulating, wonderful videos I’ve ever seen. Her Oprah Soul Series interviews were fascinating. They should make a movie of her life so everyone sees it. This is the Real Deal and gives me hope for humanity.

Leave a Reply

