Jason Mraz and a Plate of Shrimp

There are a few reasons that Tuesday was a much better day than Monday. For starters:

The new Flight of the Conchords CD came out and Amazon had it on my desk by 2:00. Excellent. Unfortunately, the downside is that on Monday I saw that if I had pre-ordered through iTunes I could have gotten the bonus track, “Bret, You’ve Got It Goin On” which is clearly their greatest song of all, and is not on the regular CD. I’ll just have to keep YouTubing it.

It was Earth Day and I got some free Earth Day swag, including reusable shopping bags.

My friend, Laura in Florida, called me at work so that her two-year-old could sing me the Harry Potter Puppet Pals song. First the “Ron, Ron, Ron WEAS-ley!” bit, then “Snape, Snape. Severus Snape.” Apparently there was an adorable dance to go with it as well, but I laughed hardest at the thought of one of her friends asking what she likes to do at home and saying, “My mommy and I do the naked puppet dance.” Yeah. That must go over really well.

Finally, the day ended with what Jon Baron calls a “Plate of Shrimp” experience. I think it’s a “Repo Man” thing. It’s when something bizarre comes up out of nowhere, a phrase or object or name, and then you suddenly come across it a bunch of times. It can’t be something common like football, or Hannah Montana, or Paris. It has to be something uncommon, like a plate of shrimp, or Bananarama, or Canada (Kidding! Love you guys!).

On Tuesday afternoon I wrote about Jason’s “Song For a Friend” because although it didn’t speak exactly to my situation, it’s a good song about friendship and caring about the people around you. A few days before that I wrote about how his new album cover reminds me of Renoir and the painting “Luncheon of the Boating Party”.

Well.

Tuesday evening I was waiting for a friend and had some time to waste so I headed to a book store. I got out of my car and was walking across the parking lot when suddenly the great DJ in the sky started talking to me. Then I realized that I was not, in fact, going crazy. I really was hearing music. And it really was Jason Mraz. And it really was “Song For a Friend”. A car a few spaces away from me had it blasting. Wha?

First of all, I think we can admit it here, very few people know who Jason Mraz is. He’s popular among a certain crowd, but stop ten people on the street and maybe one would know the name. Next, even if you’re going to blast Jason Mraz, “Song For a Friend” isn’t really a blasting song. “Geek in the Pink”, maybe. “Too Much Food”, certainly. But not “Friend”. And finally, the odds of me being in just the right place to hear it, well, they’re phenomenal, I’m sure.

Luncheon of the Boating PartyI walked into the store, pulled some super stealth moves to wait and see who was in the car, but they never got out. They sat a few more minutes and then drove away. I guess once I was smiling, their work was done.

Happy to be me I started to look through the stacks of Buy 2 Get 1 Free books when I spotted one I’d never seen before: Luncheon of the Boating Party, by Susan Vreeland, featuring the Renoir painting as its cover.

Plate of shrimp times two,
Lisa

Leave a Reply

