More Recycled, Er… Sustainable Mraz Blogging

Here’s another favorite post of mine for Greatest Hits Blog Birthday Week. 

Meet Me Halfway – And Bring the Cookies (3/22/07)

Jason Mraz in a hatAfter posting yesterday’s blog on Mraz and travel and finding your way home again, I did a quick Google and found an interview on digg.com where Mraz says this:

“I realized I really haven’t just settled down for six years. What does that feel like? Who am I now? What do I do? When I go to the grocery store, what things do I like to buy,” he asks, “cause I’ve been living off of catering and tour bus food and restaurants for so long?”

We are so on the same page, dude. Not so much with the tour bus – although I did do most of my traveling and commuting by bus since I didn’t have a car, so that sort of counts – but the bit about the grocery store rang very true for me.

When you go to the same store for years you know what aisles to hit and which brands and flavors you like. When I got back to California after living elsewhere for ten years I drove myself crazy trying to find foods I found in other cities that I really liked (oh, my sun-dried tomato-flavored cheese, where are you?), but that aren’t carried here, and then trying to figure out what I could feed myself. It was like having amnesia in a way. I knew I had to eat, I knew I’d done it before, but I couldn’t for the life of me figure out where to start. It turned into a lot of pb&j.

Then there’s the bigger questions, like, “Who am I when I’m at home? Can I be the same person I was in other places? Do I have to go back to the person I was 10 years ago?” Because I didn’t like her quite so much. She was dull and had frizzy hair.

Given the two old chestnuts, “There’s no place like home,” and “You can’t go home again,” where do you find a middle ground? So far I’ve found it by mixing our Scharffen Berger hot chocolate with some imported Arnott’s biscuits (cookies) I found at Cost Plus. Once I have the food thing worked out, I figure I can build from there.

Or maybe I should take a cue from Jason Mraz, and just think of myself as being halfway home.

2 responses to “More Recycled, Er… Sustainable Mraz Blogging

  • Ginger

    Hi!
    I just discovered your blog! I love me some J. M. too! I have been trying to find a video for some time now, and figured you look like you might be the greatest living expert on Mr. Mraz, so perhaps you can help me out.
    Jason was on a New Year’s Eve special, gosh, it must have been 2005/2006. I cannot possibly remember what he sang, but I do remember how he moved. I’d love to see it again. Do you know if it’s out there anywhere. Gosh, I wish I’d taped it.

  • curbsideprophecies

    Hi Ginger,

    Unfortunately, I’m not an expert. I don’t even keep very good records when it comes to Mraz. I’m more into appreciating his overall themes than his specific details 🙂 I did do my very best Googling for you, but no joy.

    Luckily, there are people who are very good with the list making, and you may be able to find what you’re looking for at one of their Mraz sites.

    Try this one for a long list of downloads from live shows: http://www.last.fm/group/Jason+Mraz/forum/5577/_/284362

    You can also try the Right Kind of Phrase forum. Either someone else has probably posted about this before, or you can ask if anyone else has what you’re looking for: http://rightkindofphrase.yuku.com/

    Good luck, and thanks for stopping by!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

