Jason Mraz-Ramone Does the Bop

Mraz BopEverytime I play around on YouTube I find some new Mraz clip to tickle my fancy. This morning I went to watch the Mraz Real Magic infomercial again (see post below) and in the related videos I found Mraz doing a cover of the Ramones’ “Blitzkrieg Bop” in a way that only our Mraz could.

Forget the punk anthem that makes you want to jump around and slam into people, this new “Bop” is all about sitting around a bonfire at the end of July, surrounded by friends, maybe cuddled up in a blanket with your summer fling. It’s cozy and nostalgic and perfectly Mrazified. I think I enjoy covers better when they’re a drastic departure from the original, otherwise you feel insulted by the existence of a bad, watered-down version of a song you really like (see the Britney Spears version of “I Love Rock and Roll”).

Pulsating to the backbeat,
Lisa

One response to “Jason Mraz-Ramone Does the Bop

Leave a Reply

