Geek Love: Monday Nights With Chuck

ChuckI know! I know! It’s not “Heroes” or “The Tudors”, although it’s just as cute as “Ugly Betty”, but I really love “Chuck”, and Chuck. I watch it and laugh and mourn the greatness that could have been Christopher Gorham’s “Jake 2.0” if it had lasted more than three weeks.

Do I usually put TV show titles in quotes, or do I italicize? No time to look it up now. (Can you believe I’m a paid copywriter? Me neither.)

Last night, the best dialogue of the show was something like:

Professor Dude: You work with the CIA? What do you do?
Chuck: Mostly I just wait in the car.

I think I’m enjoying it even more because I recently pulled out my “Buffy” (I’m sticking with quotes) Season 1 DVDs and had a mini-marathon of the ultimate comedy-meets-sci-fi/crime show. I forgot how damn funny it was. No wonder TV writers are striking for more money when they work so hard at coming up with these classic *tee hee* moments for us. 

Buffy to Giles: I cannot believe that you, of all people, are trying to Scully me. There is something supernatural at work here. Get your books! Look stuff up!

Joss Whedon used “Scully” as a verb, no explanation, no dumbing down; either you got it or you didn’t. Just like our Prophet Mraz, Joss knows it’s all about the wordplay, and that makes him awesome.

If the apocalypse comes, beep me,
Lisa

One response to “Geek Love: Monday Nights With Chuck

Leave a Reply

