Jason Mraz and Travel and Stuff

Sunday night I got together up with my friend, Nicolas, who I haven’t seen in two years. We met way back in 2004 at an international students outing at the University of New South Wales in Sydney. Even better than the degree I got there were the people I met and still keep in touch with.

Advice from someone who may be older and vaguely wiser: Jump into the world, see things, go places, meet crazy foreigners. It will make the world feel a whole lot smaller and cozier. Put your whole self in. Put your whole self out. Put your whole self in, and shake it all about. Do the hokey pokey and turn yourself around. That’s what it’s all about. *Clap Clap*

Back to Nicolas. He was visiting from France with two of his froggy friends. They picked me up in their rented Mustang convertible which was blasting their homemade California mix CD (some Beach Boys, some Elvis, a little “Hotel California”). Then we all went for Mexican food where the boys drank dirty martinis, practiced flashing the West Coast gang signs they learned in LA (which looked more Vulcan than violent), asked questions about enchiladas and spicy peppers, and talked to the waitress about her recent trip to the south of France. It was an international evening and the best time I’ve had in ages.

How is it that places I went and friendships I made years ago are bringing me more enjoyment than anything I’ve done in the last 12 months? Why am I not making the most of today? Do I need a little Good Orderly Direction? A Remedy for this rut I’m in? Yeah. A Plane ticket wouldn’t hurt either.

Lisa

One response to “Jason Mraz and Travel and Stuff

Leave a Reply

