Jason Mraz’s Harry Potter Song!

Ah ha! I’ve felt really guilty for straying this far off the Jason Mraz path lately. So I started to wonder how I could link Mraz to Harry Potter (aside from the fact that this is a site all about prophecies, curbside or otherwise) and tie it all up in a nice pink, Umbridge-style bow. Suddenly the lyrics to Song for a Friend popped in my head. Who needs an iPod when you can just turn on your inner jukebox?

I could see Harry reflecting on these words of wisdom from Ron. Whatcha think? I know I’m stretching a bit, but work with me people.

Well you’re magic he said
But don’t let it all go to your head
‘Cause I bet if you all had it all figured out
Then you’d never get out of bed
Well no doubt
Of all the things that I’ve read what he wrote me
Is now sounding like the man I was hoping to be
Keep on keeping it real
‘Cause it keeps getting easier indeed
He’s the reason that I’m laughing
Even if there’s no one else
He said, you’ve got to love yourself

He said you shouldn’t mumble when you speak
But keep your tongue up in your cheek
And if you stumble onto something better
Remember that it’s humble that you seek
And you’ve got all the skill you need
Individuality
You’ve got something
Call it gumption
Call it anything you want
Because when you play the fool now
You’re only fooling everyone else
You’re learning to love yourself

That’s why I’m thanking you
For what you do

I’ll be your friend
Your other brother
I will always love you

Climb up over the top
Survey the state of your soul
You’ve got to find out for yourself whether or not you’re truly trying
Why not give it a shot?
Shake it, take control
And inevitably wind up
Finding for yourself
All the strengths you have inside are still rising

(Note to Jason Mraz: This posting falls into that “keep your tongue up in your cheek” category. But I’m sure you got that. XO)

One response to “Jason Mraz’s Harry Potter Song!

Leave a Reply

