Make Jason Mraz Your Rocket Man

I had such a Mraztastic weekend, I’m not even sure where to start, so I’ll start with my friend, Chris. Chris and I have known each other since we lived in the same dorm at BU, many many years ago. (Say what you will about the evil Warren Towers, I’m sure many lifelong friendships started there.)

There are a bunch of wonderful things I could say about Chris – he spent two years in the middle school trenches with Teach for America, he’s kind and funny and way hot, he gave this blog its first link, he’s about to start working on an MBA to put a little heart back into the business world – but mostly, he’s one of my Mraz-loving friends, and that’s all that really matters here. Oh, and back in his BU days he was roommates with a certain Wayne Allen Wilcox, better known to most as Marty/Naked Guy on Gilmore Girls. Wayne was a cutie back then too.

I met Chris for brunch yesterday and it seemed appropriate that on the drive there I popped in the Mraz mix CD he gave me last year after we saw Mraz in Saratoga. It’s a little early Java Joe’s, some more upbeat stuff with the full band, a duet with Raul Midon, and the perfect end-of-a-Mraz-mix song, Rocket Man.

I’m not a big Elton John fan, although there is a time and a place for a little Crocodile Rock, fa la la la la, but this song kills me every time. The recording is intimate and strong and really freaking sexy. I’ll take a solo, acoustic Jason Mraz over the full band every time. If you haven’t heard this one, go find it.

Leave a Reply

