Can You Go Home Away From Home Again?

I’m going to visit my ex this week. We haven’t seen each other in a year and a half, and while I’m excited, I’m also nervous. What if it’s horrible and uncomfortable? Even worse, what if all my old feelings come back and I realize I made a horrible mistake by leaving when I did? At least if it’s horrible I can come home without any regrets, right?

It’s not like we had a big, angry falling out. In fact, most of my memories are really happy ones, some of the best times of my life even. I was still in love and lust and a good deal of like, but I was also feeling closed in. I was young, I wanted to explore my options, see what else was out there. I didn’t want to become so complacent and tied down that my entire life might pass by without me ever getting to find out if I could have done better. So I packed my bags one day, tearful, but also confident that it was the right thing to do.

I’ve had some very good times since then, experiences that I know I never would have had if I hadn’t broken it off when I did. I usually look back with fondness and nostalgia, but not longing. But I don’t know if that’s because I truly am better off now, or if it’s more a case of “out of sight, out of mind”. Maybe face-to-face, it will be harder to decide if I made the right choice, and harder to say good bye again.

Will I recognize Boston? Will Boston recognize me? Or will I just be another California girl who once had a fling with the East Coast, but reverted back to her West Coast ways?

I’ll have dinner with the North End and let you know.

Hand you a square of the airport,
Lisa

2 responses to “Can You Go Home Away From Home Again?

  • Kerry

    Yay! You’re coming back!

    Well, it’s supposed to be cloudy with a 40% chance of rain all weekend. So, I’ll bet you come and realize that you did the right thing moving back to sunny CA. Weather plays a huge role in how you feel about this city!

  • Lisa

    You mean when you planned this wedding, you didn’t make a reservation with the good weather fairy? Doesn’t matter. As long as there’s good food and music – and you guys of course – good times will be had by all.

Leave a Reply

