The Beauty in My Ugly So-Called Life

With my free time and super fast Internet connection at work I’ve been able to watch Jason’s “The Beauty In Ugly” video several times a day. Well, mostly I listen to it while I stare intently at a spreadsheet or Word document, for the benefit of passersby, but then I click over for the good bits when there’s no one around. I still haven’t quite figured out why Jason is dressed like a longshoreman, but I dig the hat.

I’m sure anybody would be happy to be in a Mraz video, but then again, if someone said they wanted me to represent the beauty in ugly, I think I might be just a little hurt. Blasphemy, I know.

Useless classic tv connection: If you’re as old as I am you probably remember My So-Called Life, a lovely little show about Claire Danes as an awkward, unhappy, angsty teen trying to find her way in the world while hooking up with what’s-his-name, the Live From Mars Volta in 30 Seconds guy. He’ll always be Jordan Catalano to me.

In the episode “The Zit” Claire is asked to be in this mother-daughter fashion show and she refuses because she doesn’t want all those people to stare at her and think about how uncool she is (or see The Zit), so her little sister does it instead, and loves it, and at the end of the show as Claire watches everyone walk the runway she voices-over:

“Sometimes it seems like we’re all living in some kind of prison, and the crime is how much we hate ourselves. It’s good to get really dressed up once in a while, and admit the truth — that when you really look closely, people are so strange and so complicated that they’re actually beautiful. Possibly even me.”

And then she does some of the most sincere, quiet crying I’ve ever seen on prime time. Put a little lump in my throat she did.

Now Ugly Betty is a new awkward idol for a new generation of Mraztastic geeks, and I’m all for it. Besides, Christopher Gorham is way hotter than Jordan Catalano, and he has Buffy street cred. I can’t believe Jake 2.0 got canceled.

Just an ordinary humble girl,
Lisa

Leave a Reply

