Mrazturbation Times a Thousand

I can be so damn shallow. Here I am, going on about Harry Potter – it’s the last book, I’m going to be bummed when I get to the last page, wah wah wah, it’s my blog and I’ll write what I want to – and on the homepage of sfgate.com, the site of the San Francisco Chronicle, is a very thorough story about my friend, Jane Stillwater, who is 64 and on her way to Iraq. Just because she thinks she should go.Jane Stillwater

Talk about following your bliss – picking one thing a day you can do to make you a better you, to improve your life and the lives of those around you – Jane has raised the Mrazturbation stakes big time. Just smack me now and call me selfish.

Let me give you a little background on Jane. She and I worked together at my last job where we shared affection for Lost and chocolate and Bush jokes. She is an old-school, madcap Berkeley hippie who has spent her life fighting for change and justice and running off doing wild things, as this article details. 

Jane is all guts and big ideas and so when she first mentioned a couple of months ago that she was trying to get embedded in Iraq I brushed it off as something that was more than a whim, but smaller than a plan. For one thing, I thought getting into Iraq would be impossible if you weren’t working for CNN or another major player, so I figured the logistics would be insurmountable. Not for Jane.

Last week I got an email saying she would be headed to Kuwait on the 28th, even though her credentials hadn’t been settled by the DoD, and she would have to wait there until they gave her the green light. She also asked if anyone happened to have some Kevlar body armor she could borrow, just in case.

My first thought was, “Ohmygod she really did it!” Next I thought, “I hope she makes it back safe. It is a war zone after all.” And then I just settled into awe. Everyone I know has something to bitch about, whether it’s traffic or rising housing costs or the way the newspaper boy throws the paper under my car every single morning so I have to practically crawl under the damn hood to reach it… deep breath… but almost nobody ever does anything to change it.

Well Jane is doing something, and it’s a much bigger something than even the hundreds of blogs she’s written about the war. She’s headed right into the thick of it, and I have the feeling that even if she spends all three weeks in the airport in Kuwait, she’ll have a hell of a story to tell when she gets back.

Read the full article: www.sfgate.com

Leave a Reply

