Speaking of Happy Foods…

Go make friends with a Girl Scout cookie: myspace.com/girlscoutcookiesale

It’s a weird organization – young girls in uniform, tying knots, starting fires, taking oaths, pretending to be bestest friends, all the makings of a cult really – but they make some damn fine thin mints, so I’m all for them.

And how does the Prophet Mraz feel about sweets? In his own words, “If you are what you eat, in my case I’ll be sweet, so come and get some.” There you have it. He’s pro-sugar. Let there be yummy treats.

Another cookie note and then I’m calling it a night because I decided to pretend that I know how to garden today, and after hours of weeding and planting, my back is killing me. My flowers are super purty though.

So, I had to send my boss the dates I was going to be out for my trip to Boston next month. (Yay! Can’t wait to take a stroll through the Common, shop in Harvard Square, and make a love/hate visit to my alma mater, BU.) The email started out professionally enough, but after a boring morning it quickly went quirky.

Hi [Boss],

My trip to Boston will have me out of here from April 25-27. The 25th is also ANZAC day in Australia, so that should be a holiday anyway – time to stay home and eat ANZAC biscuits, which are in fact cookies, and think about WWII, which is when the cookies taste like they were made. Not all cookies are happy cookies.

It’s all true. ANZAC biscuits are all over Australia, but they aren’t fun eating. They’re what you eat to remember how hard the Greatest Generation had it. Still, a cookie is a cookie, and I made a few packages worth of sacrifices during my time in Sydney.

This weekend find your own happy food, and remember those who had to suffer through less enjoyable cuisine.

Too much food on my plate,
Lisa

2 responses to “Speaking of Happy Foods…

  • Heather

    Yo Lisa,

    Just a quick note from a fellow American Down Under — I love the idea of taking a day off in the U.S. to eat ANZAC biscuits! My pedantic nature arises after reading the blog; however, bidding me to offer this correction: ANZAC Day commemorates the Australian-New Zealand collaboration in WWI not WWII. So those biscuits are older than you think. For more information, see http://www.awm.gov.au/commemoration/anzac/anzac_tradition.htm. Think Mel Gibson in Gallipoli, mate.

    Cheers dear,
    Heather

  • curbsideprophecies

    Thanks for setting me straight, Heather. I wonder why they didn’t come up with some special WWII bikkies. I guess if it ain’t broke…

Leave a Reply

